27 November 2016

Wittumspalace Weimar



The Wittumspalace in Weimar is a Citypalace which was build from 17671769 for Barom Johann Jakob of Fritsch, Minister and Privy Councilor in Weimar. After the Citxpalace burned down the  Dowager Duchess Anna Amalia of Saxe-Weimar-Eisenach lived there from May 1774. She bouvght it in 1775.


After she moved in Duchess Anna Amalia had the interior designed by Adam Friedrich Oeser, Director of the Leipzig Academy of Signatures. He goes back to the ceiling paintings in the second-floor banqueting hall and in the private rooms on the first floor. Numerous busts, oil paintings and watercolors depict members of the ducal family and the court as well as guests from Germany and abroad. In the Red Salon, which Carl Alexander declared as a poet, the portraits of Christoph Martin Wieland, Johann Gottfried Herder, Johann Wolfgang Goethe, and Friedrich Schiller. The dining room, the so-called "Tafelrundenzimmer", served Anna Amalia as a place for social evening events. The interior and furniture of the Wittumspalais are distinguished by their simple elegance and solid craftsmanship. A highlight is the almost authentic setting of the Green Salon, once the duchess's living room, in the early classic style from 1785.




After Duchess Anna Amalid died in 1807 the Palais was by the Ducal administration. From 1808 to 1848 the Weimar Freimaurerloge Amalia met in the building. From 1833 to 1848 meetings of the Landtag took place in the festival hall. In 1848 the library of the Lesemuseum was moved to the Wittumspalais. In the 1870's it was renovated in order of Grand Duke Carl Alexander of Saxe-Weimar-Eisenach and a Museum in Honor of Duchess Anna Amalie was set up.  The air raids on Weimar during the Second World War also hit the Wittumspalais: with heavy roof damage and destroyed doors and windows. In 1949 it was again opened as a museum-



No comments: